About Us


About Rimer CLC

The new Rimer Community Learning Center opened on August 26, 2009.

Our teachers:

  • Rimer CLC teachers have an average of 21 years of experience
  • 92% hold a master's degree or higher


Our academic + enrichment programs:

  • Active parent involvement in school and PTA activities
  • Instrumental music program to prepare for band 
  • Morning and afternoon preschool and Pre-K for 3-5 year olds
  • School-wide accelerated reading program
  • STAR reading and math programs
  • Strong partnerships with local businesses and churches

History of Rimer CLC

Rimer CLC is named in honor of William F. Rimer (1870-1947), who moved to the village of Kenmore in 1919 and became principal of Kenmore High School in 1927. The school was originally a one-room school called Allenside, located at the corner of Foust (now Wilbeth) and Manchester roads. It was replaced with a new building in 1928 and was annexed as part of Akron Public Schools in 1929. The groundbreaking for the new CLC building was on June 4, 2007. Classes started in new building on August 26, 2009.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.